Westside sees a lot of swearing in ceremonies


Washington County Swearing In 2    Newly elected officials from around the region were sworn in at multiple ceremonies in January.

   The Metro Council has a new President in Lynn Peterson and two new Councilors in Juan Carlos Gonzalez and Christine Lewis.
   Former Metro Councilor Kathryn Harrington is now the Chair of the Washington County Board of Commissioners, and Pam Treece and Jerry Willey joined her as new Commissioners on the Board - re-elected County Auditor John Hutzler was also sworn in on Tuesday.
   City of Banks Mayor Pete Edison is beginning his third term and is joined by newly elected Councilors Marsha Kirk and Erica Harold-Heine. 
   The City of Beaverton welcomes new City Councilor Laura Mitchell, while re-elected Councilors Lacey Beaty and Marc San Soucie also begin new terms. 
   In Cornelius, the City Council will welcome Luis Hernandez and John Colgan as Councilors, and re-elected Mayor Jef Dalin will begin a new term.
   At a swearing in ceremony in November, all four Forest Grove City Council incumbents took the oath of office and started a new term - Mayor Pete Truax, Councilors Tom Johnston, Ron Thompson, and Malynda Wenzl.
   The Hillsboro City Council welcomed newly elected Councilor Beach Pace, who was joined by re-elected Councilors Kyle Allen, and Olivia Alcaire.
   On Wednesday (January 16), the King City Council will swear in newly elected Micah Paulsen and David Platt, along with re-elected Ken Gibson and Jaimie Fender.
   North Plains has two new City Councilors in James Fage and Rickey Smith, who will join re-elected Garth Eimers.
   On Tuesday (January 15), Doug Scott will be sworn in as a newly elected City Councilor for Sherwood, along with incumbent Councilors Tim Rosener, Russell Griffith, and Mayor Keith Mays.
   Tigard has already celebrated the swearing in of Mayor Jason Snider and Councilors John Goodhouse and Liz Newton - one seat is still open on the Council for an appointment. 
   Tualatin has a new Mayor in Frank Bubenik, and joining him as new Councilors are Maria Reyes and Bridget Brooks.
   West Linn is welcoming City Councilors Bill Relyea and Jules Walters.
   In Wilsonville this week, City Councilors Charlotte Lehan and Ben West were sworn into office.
   WEA wants to congratulate all the new Westside elected officials.